#1 gasman

gasman

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 27 July 2013 - 06:39 PM

Hi folks
I`ve been thinking of a way to make a light panel to create flats using my 120mm refractor. I have an arduino uno board with quite a few components and led`s and wondering if I can utilize this to create a light panel?. I`d like to use quite a few led`s to cover a 120mm diameter area so maybe 13 or so to get an even light and I`d also like to make it dimmable to aim for 1/2 to 1/3 full well lumination. These led`s would be behind a diffuse cover of some sort.
I`ve found some basic code but that will only control 3 led`s, is this doable with an Arduino uno board please?. I`ve also got a raspberry pi knocking about somewhere but maybe the Arduino would be easier to set up?.
Thanks
Steve

Ps maybe get away with less than 13 led`s?

• Neil likes this

#2 Starlock

Starlock

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 291 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 10:36 PM

I have no experience of Raspberry Pi's or the like but I think a matrix of LED's would work nicely behind a panel without all that even. I'm trying to work out why you need a processor? I have been using a much more simplified version of this (in a way). Just using a LED torch with an array of about 9 LED's. I simply shine this at a distance onto a white baby grow stretched over the aperture of my scope. Works a treat and I should have really done this on my last imagine session thats for sure :) Can't you just use a stream of white Xmas tree LED's and lay them uniformely behind a uniformely white translucent plastic cover.

Please feel free to dish out the dunce cap if I've missed the point :D

Chris 

#3 gasman

gasman

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 06:47 PM

Hi Chris