5 replies to this topic

#1 jethro

jethro

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • LocationRockefeller, PA

Posted 22 July 2014 - 07:04 PM

It appears to me, many of you are into AP. Which made me think- and my brain hurts when I ponder, so I try not to do that very much.

Anyway, what type of telescope do you have and why?

A tripod or Dob?

Was it because of cost?

Because you only observe certain objects?

You wanted a AP setup?

For scientific purpose?

Because you have a hairless cat named Fluffy, and she makes all your decisions? (And if that's the case, I think I know why your cat is mad at you. You named her Fluffy!)

I'm curious. Both of mine are Dobs. I love them due to the ease of setup and use. So far, I have not been bitten by the AP bug. Though I took a few shots of the moon and sunspots with my Cannon PowerShot SD1200. Maybe I'll get serious about it in the future. At this time, I'm still very new at staring at the heavens with scopes and are still overwhelmed with what I see.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Since I have an inquiring mind, maybe that's why my brain always hurts...

• Neil, Andromeda and Dwayneen like this

Orion GoScope 80mm Table Top

Orion SkyQuest XT12g

Bushnell Falcon Insta Focus 7 x 35 Binoculars

Eyeballs, though my peepers are 30 years younger

#2 Neil

Neil

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 1,493 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands

Posted 23 July 2014 - 06:09 AM

I have 5 telescopes! However, my initial goal was aways to do astrophotography, so I have purchased them and upgraded them along the way to support that goal.

• TOA130F, this is my main imaging scope, since I have the converter that allow me to move up and down in focal length. My reason for the purchase was my ability to buy direct whilst I was living in Japan.
  • Mewlon 250M, same as above, however, this was bought to image the planets and small planetary nebulas etc...
  • BabyQ, used in combination with the TOA130F