• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Neil

Neil

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 1,493 posts

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:09 AM

Let me start by stating that I'm not a programmer.

However, I count myself lucky that I was born in time to be a teenager when the personal computer revolution started. My first computer was an ATARI 400 of which I still have a working version. My friends at the time all had ZX81s with the Zilog Z80A processor. I didn't know it but I already had a RISC processor in the 6502 which only had three registers and one of those was the accumulator!

I learn't to program very easily and can program in the following languages;

Basic, C, C++, Java and Python

Basic is something that we are learn  = Beginners All purpose Symbolic Instruction Code. But there are various version of it around the world now specific to different company's, some good, some bad!

You can't program computers for long without running into 'C' and C++. These taken together are the fundamental foundation of all computers and computing, there is no escaping their universal application throughout the world. If you want to write a program once that can be run on any machine / processor combination then it has to be done in C or C++. The trouble is that they are difficult languages to learn with powerful concepts that are all too easily compromised, so you really do need to be very familiar with them to excise proper control of them.

Enter Java! In the beginning Java came bring all sorts of promises; maintains the power of C++ whilst simplifying the coding and execution. In fact, it was really riding the internet wave it created with APPELETS. Java's main mantra was that everything should be a CLASS with its own objects etc... However, you still needed to write a lot of boiler plate code to get things to work and then you ran into the ANONYMOUS INNER CLASS... What a complete mess!